It took years to pass FRM - Zero Finance Background - Only David at my side!!

Finaspirant

Subscriber
I am writing this email 20 days after the FRM I/II results were declared. Just that it took me this much time to really sink in the feeling to the fact that I cleared both the part in November attempt. I did my post in the result thread but really writing this post to express my gratitude to David - who helped me bring down the Goliath name FRM.

I am a software architect with 16 years experience with absolutely no finance education hailing from India. Till a year and half back I was working in US only. One day during a coffee discussion about a job offer a colleague had (later I came to know was preparing for CFA), said that he will have to decide upon by seeing the time value of that offer!!! The word "time value" sounded so exciting to me. Then a close friend told me what it meant (he was from the top B school of India and already a FRM). Thus in this "bad company" I came to know about FRM and the 2008 crisis was there. We were developing software for bank backoffice operations (no relation to core Finance though). This is where I thought that lets do a formal certification and education in Finance.

Very soon I realized that encouragement is not enough, you really have to devote time. Earlier friends got me notes from other providers but frankly with no Finance backing it was all Greek. This is where I chanced upon BT while looking at some forums. Just my seeing some samples I knew that this would fit me. Thus I subscribed.

Then came the state everyone goes through as I realize reading those posts in your forum - is there a master plan to study, questions like how much time is enough for preparation? what basic books to read? - YES I read them all and frankly now that I have cleared I can relate to David's reply that there is no one size that fits all!!